Cláudio de Pina
Evento/Concerto/Projecto Obras e Textos
Evento/Concerto/Projecto Obras e Textos

Informação adicional

  • Media:
  • Compositor(a): Cláudio de Pina
  • Ano de Composição: 2020
  • Instituição/Pólo: CESEM
  • Categoria: Electroacústica/Acusmática
  • Duração Total: 10'10''
  • Duração: 10 - 15 min


The triptych Tentações de Santo Antão (Temptation of Saint Anthony) is an oil painting on wood panels from the XVI century by the Netherlandish painter Hieronymus Bosch (1450-1516). The painting portraits the physical, mental and spiritual torments endured by S. Anthony the Great, a common subject in Medieval and Renaissance art. Like in other Bosch’s works, this triptych uses a unique and fantastic imagery. The painting hangs in the Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga in Lisbon and since my childhood is one of the places I often visit, just to admire this painting. In each visit new details arise and fascinated me into creating an ‘orquestre diabolique’ to portrait the scene.

The most recurrent and central theme: the temptations and solitude of the just man in the face of evil. On the inner sides, the triptych shows three steps from the hagiography of Saint Anthony, tempted and seduced by demons until he finds the way to salvation through the hermitage experience. On the outer faces, visible with the closed triptych, the situation it normally found itself in, are popular and non-demonic figures who stir up and disturb the path of Christ from Prison to Calvary; their monochrome helps to create a strange and moonlit atmosphere, which underlines the desolation of the landscape and accentuates the disturbing certainty of a widespread domination of evil.

This triptych integrates the four elements of the universe (air, earth, water and fire) making them the setting for horrendous characters. The elements are correlated to the family of instruments (woodwinds, percussion, strings and brass). The sounds of the orchestra where use, in particular the extended techniques, tremolos and glissandi. Varied percussive sounds of the instruments are added and transformed mixed with the usual percussive instrument, snares, toms, cymbals and timpani. In the form and structure there are repetitions, mimicking the continuous temptations. Each sound is manipulated and transformed into something just a little bit artificial, eluding the listener if these sounds where played like that or manipulated afterwards. Like the devils playing with St. Anthony. Temptations are often illusions by one self or imposed by society or religion, so the spacialization, pitch and time transformations are added to keep that ambiguity and creating an immersive narrative. Several rebound, fluxus and oscillation movements are used throughout the piece, representing each temptation, that abruptly try to corrupt St. Anthony’s will. Throughout the piece some sounds indicate the anguish and torment with some false release. It raises the question if it is possible to resist a constant pressure of temptations, like in our modern society, and if St. Anthony (or us) will resist them.

This piece was awarded as a Finalist in the 11th Biennial Acousmatic Composition Competition Métamorphoses 2020, Ohain (Belgium) performed in Brussels by Annette Vande Gorne.

Evento/Concerto/Projecto Obras e Textos
Cláudio de Pina

Cláudio de Pina (b.1977) is a sound artist, improviser, organist and composer. Titular organist of the historical organ at the Parish of Ajuda (Lisbon). Researcher in GIMC (CESEM). Holds a DAS regarding contemporary organ music and a MA distinguished with the Dean’s Honour Roll 2018. Currently a PhD candidate and FCT fellow in the same field (ESML/FCSH). Studied in Gregorian Institute of Lisbon, Hot Jazz Club and Physics Engineering (FCUL). 
Had further studies with Adrian Moore, Åke Parmerud, Annette Vande Gorne, Barry Truax, Gilles Gobeil, Hans Tutschku, and Trevor Wishart. 
His work has been premiered worldwide in; Arte no Tempo, Aveiro Síntese, Binaural Nodar, Festival DME, Festival Zeppelin, Iklectic, MUSLAB, MA/IN, Perpectivas Sonoras, Lisboa Incomum, L’Espace du Son, and World Soundscape Project. His acousmatic works have been published in MA/IN 2019 and Métamorphoses 2020. Self released two albums Asteroeidēs and Palimpsestus. Released in 2022, Avant-garde Organ, funded by GDA Foundation and published by 9musas. Released in 2023, Aether Ventus, published by blumlein records.


Cláudio de Pina (n.1977) é artista sonoro, compositor, investigador e organista. Titular do órgão histórico de Machado e Cerveira na Paroquial da Ajuda. Investigador integrado no Grupo de Investigação de Música Contemporânea (CESEM). Detém um Diploma de Estudos Avançados em Artes Musicais (FCSH/ESML) na área de música contemporânea para órgão. Mestre em Artes Musicais, com distinção no quadro de Honra, Melhor Mestre 2018 (FCSH). Actualmente é candidato a Doutoramento e investigador FCT. Estudou no Instituto Gregoriano de Lisboa, Hot Jazz Clube e Eng. Física (FC/UL). Estudou também com; Adrian Moore, Åke Parmerud, Annette Vande Gorne, Barry Truax, César Viana, Eurico Carrapatoso, Gilles Gobeil, Hans Tutschku, Jaime Reis, Vincent Debut e Trevor Wishart.
A sua produção artística e científica foca-se em; análise musical, composição, música electroacústica, acústica, síntese sonora, órgão, interpretação e paisagem sonora.
O seu trabalho académico e artístico já foi premiado, editado e publicado internacionalmente em eventos como; Arte no Tempo, Aveiro Síntese, Binaural Nodar, Festival DME, Festival Zeppelin, Ikklectic, MA/IN, MUSLAB, Lisboa Incomum, L’Espace du Son, Perspectivas Sonoras, Radiophrenia e World Listening Project. As suas obras acusmáticas foram editadas nas colectâneas MA/IN 2019 e Métamorphoses 2020, concursos de composição no qual foi finalista. Publicou em 2020, Asteroeidēs, música para órgão e electrónica e Palimpsestus, música acusmática. Lançou em 2022, Avant-garde Organ, edição crítica de obras vanguardistas em órgão histórico Português, com o apoio da Fundação GDA e publicado por 9musas com crítica favorável na Ípsilon (Público), 4,5 em 5, e internacionalmente nas revistas The Wire e Scherzo. Em 2023 lançou Aether Ventus, com Andrew Levine, publicado por Blumlein Records com órgão histórico, theremin e sintetizadores modulares.

Mais Obras de Cláudio de Pina